Filter Publications: Project: Publication: By Date
KPMB Receives 3 OAA Awards for Design Excellence
March 21, 2014 | Ontario Association of Architects
Demonstrating the best in architectural design and innovation, winners of the 2014 Ontario Association of Architects (OAA) Awards feature Canadian projects designed by Ontario architects, ranging from sustainable single-family homes to the redevelopment of key cultural and civic destinations.

Representing Ontario’s emerging new talent and some of the province’s most established architecture firms, 15 newly completed projects in Toronto, Ottawa, Winnipeg, Bracebridge, Hamilton, Brampton, Midhurst, and Halifax, have been distinguished in the Design Excellence category. Selected from more than 170 submissions, recipients of the 2014 ‘Design Excellence’ Award have been recognized by a jury of peers from the design community on the following criteria:

1.Creativity: The innovative nature of the design solution.
2.Context: The contribution a project makes to its unique location, to neighbouring uses and to community building.
3.Sustainability: The contribution the project makes to a sustainable environment. Considers project design merits and the reduced use of raw materials and dependence on fossil fuels, as well as projects that achieve high quality interior environments, with regards to daylighting, air quality and material use.
4.Good Design/Good Business: The degree to which the project creatively supports and interprets the business and architectural goals of the client through programming and design.
5.Legacy: The contribution of the project in establishing a new benchmark for architectural excellence.

Celebrating forward-thinking design and leadership in architecture, more than 30 winners in nine categories will be recognized at a formal awards ceremony in Montreal, May 9, as part of the OAA’s annual conference.

2014 OAA Awards – List of Winners

Design Excellence

Algonguin Centre for Construction Excellence
Ottawa, ON
Diamond and Schmitt Architects Incorporated
Edward J. Cuhaci and Associates Architects Inc.

Bridgepoint Active Healthcare
Toronto, ON

Stantec Architecture Ltd., Architects / KPMB Architects
HDR Architecture Associates, Inc./ Diamond and Schmitt Architects Incorporated

Centennial College Athletic and Wellness Centre
Toronto, ON
Kongats Architects

Centennial College Library and Academic Facility
Toronto, ON
Diamond and Schmitt Architects Incorporated

Chinguacousy Park Redevelopment
Brampton, ON
MacLennan Jaunkalns Miller Architects Ltd.

County of Simcoe Administration Centre
Midhurst, ON
Teeple Architects Inc. & Ted Handy & Associates Inc., Architect in joint venture

Manitoba Hydro Place
Winnipeg, MB

KPMB Architects (Design Architect)
Smith Carter Architects & Engineers Incorporated (Executive Architect)
Prairie Architects Inc. (Advocate Architect)

Moore Park Residence
Toronto, ON
Drew Mandel Architects

Mount Dennis Library
Toronto, ON
G. Bruce Stratton Architects

Nova Scotia Power (NSP) Corporate Headquarters
Halifax, NS
WZMH Architects
Fowler Bauld and Mitchell, Associate Architects

Stealth Cabin
Bracebridge, ON
Superkül Inc., Architect

Stoney Creek Recreation Centre
Hamilton, ON
Rounthwaite Dick & Hadley Architects Inc. with Lintack Architects Incorporated

Through House
Toronto, ON
Dubbeldam Architecture + Design

Tommy Thompson Park Pavilions
Toronto, ON
Montgomery Sisam Architects Inc.

Victoria Park Subway Station
Toronto, ON
IBI Group Architects
Brown and Storey Architects Inc.


Semi [Detached]
Batay-Csorba Architects
Jodi Batay-Csorba
Andrew Batay-Csorba

Jiigew (by the water)
Prince Arthur’s Landing, Thunder Bay, ON
spmb & Brook Mcllroy Architects

Honourable Mention
Ken O. Lum

Sustainable Design Excellence Award

Manitoba Hydro Place
Winnipeg, MB

KPMB Architects (Design Architect)
Smith Carter Architects & Engineers Incorporated (Executive Architect)
Prairie Architects Inc. (Advocate Architect)

Landmark Designation

50 Park Road
Toronto, ON
John B. Parkin Associates
(Now NORR Limited, Architects and Engineers)

McMaster University Health Sciences Centre
Hamilton, ON
Zeidler Partnership Architects

Wandich Cottage
Peterborough, ON
Strasman Architects Inc.

Best Emerging Practice

Atelier Kastelic Buffey Inc.

G. Randy Roberts Service Award

Recognizing members of the OAA for extraordinary service to the members
Susan Ruptash

Lifetime Design Achievement Award

Honouring members for career-long contribution to Architectural Design Excellence
Jerome Markson

Order of da Vinci

Presented to persons who have made a significant and meaningful contribution to the profession of architecture
Gordon Grice

View Original Article Here